wish I was there

Wish I was at the Folksy Summer School

folksy summer school

The Folksy Summer School looked like a fab weekend of networking and talks, and lots of learnings for designers and makers. Held in Sheffield on 10 to 11 August 2013, I unfortunately couldn’t make it/afford it.

It took a holistic approach to making, recognising the business and marketing skills required to become noticed in the marketplace, as well as addressing the changing face of craft and its audience. The roll call of guest speakers looked ace and I’ll be doing some Googling to learn more about them and their businesses…

I think it’s great that the team at Folksy not only promote British craft through their retail website, but are concerned with their artists and the sustainability of the craft sector as a whole.

Leave a comment