Cultural Consumption

The Runaway (1)

For Cultural Consumption we’ve been asked to watch a subtitled film. I decided to watch a short film as reading quickly is not my cup of tea and I focus so much on reading that I miss what’s on the screen. For me it becomes a reading exercise rather than a cinematic one and overall would be much more enjoyable as a book with no stop watch running on each sentence. As a very visual person I like looking at the artistic direction of the film, which I miss when focussing on subtitles.

I just googled to see what I could find. I started watching a couple but they bored me before there was even a chance for dialogue; they felt very ernest and thriller-est. Perhaps because it has been a very miserable day, but the bright colours and dynamic filming really caught my attention and made me want to watch more.

I liked that the film was used to illustrate the voice over, the movement animated what could easily have been a still image  or graphic. The story unfolded without being able to guess too much about what the punchline was but also, which is nice in a 10 minute film, that you got to connect with many of the characters.

It was interesting that in the first section much of the narrative was based on imagination and what ifs, it was like the drawing shape-game where you got a shape and had to make something from it. It was a fun way to build the story and communicate the idea of chance and likelihood.

 

What I didn’t like about the film was that it was too fast-paced and image heavy at points so I felt frustrated that everything could not be absorbed. I also didn’t like that it reminded me of the French film Amelie in its styling. My favourite bits were when the little girl was imagining what was below the cover that was shaped like a car, and when thoughts were physically pulled from the science room

If I had more time I would watch Persepolis, a French animated film based on Marjane Satrapi’s autobiographical graphic novel of the same name. We learnt about Satrapi at the Contenxt of Practice 2 leacture with DAvid and James last week. I am interested in learning more about how this work is socially engaged.

One thought on “The Runaway (1)

  1. Pingback: Cultural consumption list | KJG that's me

Leave a Reply

