Cultural Consumption

Signed (27)

Today I learnt how to sign my name – Kate – using British Sign Language (BSL).

scan-of-stamps003

I made little linocut stamps of hands signing each letter, which I pressed into pigment ink pads to create a stamp on each letter. My stamps were too small, my tools too cheap, and my skills too burgeoning for them to be overly clear, but I tried and if I keep practising I’m sure I will achieve a clear stamp sooner or later.

Layout 1

For a clearer look at what Kate is meant to look like in BSL , see the alphabet postcard above by NDCS, the National Deaf Children’s Society.

Some info about hearing loss and deafness:

  • There are more than 10 million people in the UK with some form of hearing loss, or one in six of the population.
  • At 31 March 2010, 56,400 people were recorded on the deaf register, and more join the register each year.
  • Over half (53%) of people on the deaf register were aged 18-64.

Sources: Health & Social Care Information Centre, RNIB

Culture consumed

One thought on “Signed (27)

  1. Pingback: Cultural consumption list | KJG that's me

Leave a Reply

