I heart...

I heart Nikki McWilliams

Teacake_Cushions_2012_WEB

I’m one Tunnock biscuit away from wanting to be Nikki McWilliams.

Her practice is a pretty simple one: celebrating a nice cuppa tea and biscuit. She recreates vintage biscuits as cushions with amazing effect. These gorgeous bits of kitsch are complemented with cards, stationery, and prints that all celebrate biscuits and brews. She also has lovely broaches pocket mirrors and homewares.

I was very lucky to have gotten a fab Tunnock Teacake cushion from my chums at work to mark the end of my secondment back of house at The Hepworth Wakefield, and I cherish it. So if anyone is wondering what to get me for Christmas, I do love dark chocolate too

Nikki herself is Scottish-based, which I guess explains why the Tunnock’s brand is so close to her heart. She isΒ inspired by a love of British culture, contemporary Pop-Art and her fascination with the ritual of the tea break. Since conceiving the idea in 2009, Nikki is now stocked in 60 stores across the UK.

Leave a Reply

