Cultural Consumption / Year 2

Nom nom (9)

vietnamese-coffeewent out from some new international food rather than visiting an international supermarket (I used to go to CC Continental Supermarket almost daily when I worked in Chapeltown, have been to the Chinese supermarket many a time (even when it used to be in Leeds’ ‘Chinatown’), and am no stranger to the many international and European stalls in Kirkgate Market, so I’m really not missing out by reinterpreting this task).

I’ve not had Vietnamese food before so went to the new street food market at Trinity in the city centre and got some dinner from Pho [pronounced ‘fur’].

I was most excited to try Vietnamese Coffee as I didn’t even know it existed. It’s a strong coffee whitened with condensed milk. It was amazing. I think I’ll use condensed milk in all my hot drinks from now on. Sod the waist line.

I also shared Gỏi cuốn (summer rolls) and ate up Bún chicken (Vermicelli rice noodles with a lemongrass & chilli wok-fried topping, served with fresh herbs, beansprouts & peanuts – noodles served at room temp just like in Vietnam, pour over nước chấm side sauce & mix). Plus a very generously helped myself to everyone else’s dinner, including Cơm Tấm (broken rice) and Phở (Vietnamese noodle soup).

It was really tasty, fresh, and delicious. It also felt pretty healthy (except the condensed milk bit).

Culture consumed

One thought on “Nom nom (9)

  1. Pingback: Cultural consumption list | KJG that's me

Leave a Reply

