Jobs/career / portfolio/marketing

Web s(h)iting

I’ve had terrible trouble developing a website to show case my work.The main problem is that I’m not sure what I want to do when I graduate, so communicating who I am in a professional and promotional manner is very hard and confusing. A good website needs a clear purpose and be audience focussed, but at the moment I can’t achieve either of these things, so it’s just about listing the work I’ve done over the past two years.

My other problem is that I don’t want to invest in a proper website until it has some direction, but the number of free options out there are the best.

Cargo Collective

I started using it last year to help me note a recognise my learning journey. I thought it was great but lacked branding Β – that was until I used another computer to view it! Without the sensitive scroll/mouse area on the MacBook Pro, the site was hard to use and the content was hard to navigate through. Needless to say that design was abandoned, but all the other choices were good for people with very visual self explanatory work, and not for my complicated creative output. I had to give up on Cargo.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 12.09.58

WordPress

I didn’t want to use the WordPress website end of things because that would require hosting, but with the introduction of the portfolio option on two of the desingers, I thought I could hack a blog into a website. I did a bit of technical work to get it to work right, including short codes, but alas, at the tutorial with Graham today he said it looked like a student website. He is right, but there were no options to change the text, layout, etc, without upgrading.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 12.11.13

Wix

I have played with the site before and attempted to make a website, before abandoning it for Cargo Collective. It may be worth a relook though as it gives a lot more design freedom whilst being free.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 12.13.20

I think I’ll go ahead and give Wix a try. I’ll order the content into the three areas which best demonstrate my areas of interest – marketing, visual, and community arts and crafts. I’m also going to take on board what Graham was saying about the time people have to look and the key points they’ll be looking for, like awards, skills, and campaign successes.

Leave a Reply

