experiences

Yorkshire Beer and Ice Cream Pairing

Leeds Indie Festival Beer and Ice Cream Pairings tickets

Beer and ice cream, huh! I thought the folks at Leeds Indie Food Festival must have been doing a fair bit of beer tasting when they came up with this, but it was my birthday and I was feeling adventurous so I thought I’d give it a try. I wandered down hipster hang-out the Black Swan and bought myself a ticket for a liquid lunch.

Leeds Indie Festival Beer and Ice Cream Pairings Menu

The mouth-watering menu presented by straight talker ice creamiers Northern Bloc and craft brewers the Ilkely Brewery went some ways to allaying my fears and it was tough to pick just two combos. In the end my friend and I managed to organise to share choices and went for a Raspberry & Sorrel with a Siberia 5.9% Rhubarb Saison and the Earl Grey & Lemon paired with The Mayan 6.5% Chocolate Chipotle Stout.

Leeds Indie Festival Beer and Ice Cream Pairings Black Swan

The Rhubarb Saison was delicious, the Chocolate Chipotle Stout not so much; the thickness of the drink combined with the savoury flavours gave a rather meaty sensation that was pretty weird, and even weirder after a spoonful of ice cream. I still drank it though, so it mustn’t have been so bad!

Leeds Indie Festival Beer and Ice Cream Pairings

We left The Black Swan with empty glasses and bowls pretty, and feeling convinced that ice cream and beer do actually go together. Hope to see some beer floats on next year’s menu.

Leave a Reply

